History of Consulate General of India, Sydney

The Consulate General of India was established in Sydney in 1941 as the Trade Commission of India Cricket Betting Odds India. Online Casino Deutsch

The First Trade Commissioner was Mr. R.R. Saxena of the Imperial Customs Service and was appointed to this Post from the afternoon of January 30, 1941. He presented his papers to the Australian Governor General on March 7, 1941.

In 1948 Mr. G. Parameswaran Pillai, became Independent India's first Trade Commissioner to Australia and New Zealand. Parhaat Nettikasinot

In April 1968, the name of the Trade Commission was changed to the Deputy High Commission of India.

In January 1973, the Deputy High Commission of India acquired its present name of Consulate General of India, Sydney.

Available records indicate that the Trade Commission was first housed at 39 Martin Place, Sydney. casino bonuses

The Consulate General of India, from available records, was located at ‘Caltex House’ in Kent Street, Sydney, from where it moved in the mid-80’s to Walker Street in North Sydney.

Since January 1994 the Consulate General is located at ‘Bligh Chambers’ 25, Bligh Street in the Sydney CBD.

As per available records, the Heads of Post in Sydney have been as follows:

Trade Commissioner



Mr Ramji Ram Saxena

30 Jan, 1941� ....


Mr.Girdhari Lal Puri

...1961 – 1965.......

Mr Roy Axel Khan

16 Mar, 1965 � 19,Aug, 1969



Deputy High Commissioner



Mr Roy Axel Khan

19 Apr, 1968� 19 Aug,1969

Mr Giteshwar Raj

19 Aug, 1969 � 1 Nov,1971

Mr Jyotirmoy Baruah

7 Dec, 1971 - 21 Dec,1972



Consul General



Mr Hari Kishan Mahajan

30 Jan, 1973 � Jul 1976

Mr Virendra Pal Singh

Jul 1976 � Oct 1979

Mr Inderjeet Singh Rathore  

Dec 1979 � Apr 1983

Mr Arun Kumar Banerjee

Jun 1983 - Jul 1986

Mr Vidya Bhushan Soni

Aug 1986 � Oct 1989

Mr Arif Qamarain

Mar 1990 � Nov 1992

Mr C.Pathilyil Ravindranathan

Nov 1992 � Aug 1995

Mr Vijay Kumar

Aug 1995 � Mar 2001

Mr M. Ganapathi

Mr Sujan R Chinoy

Mr Amit Dasgupta

19 Apr, 2001 � Dec 2005

21 Jan, 2006 - 24 Dec, 2008

22 Feb, 2009 -


© 2003 Consulate General of India ,Sydney